CoN 20th Anniversary: 1997-2017
Review of kotor(knights of the old republic)

Posted: 15th November 2020 22:56

*
Crusader
Posts: 1,527

Joined: 19/6/2009

Awards:
Member of more than ten years. Celebrated the CoN 20th Anniversary at the forums. Member of more than five years. 
So i managed to get some of the game to work on cd, but the game continuously crashes, so its not looking like i will be able to beat this game.

Games like VTM redemption and bloodlines are far more stable games than kotor 1, and so much so actually, that every time i get to the part where calo nord shows up, the game instantly crashes in the apartment complex.

Before this, it would always crash in the tutorial area, making the game unbeatable.

I downloaded a patch to be able to play this far changed settings multiple times, went into the file and changed to windowed mode took off soft shadows grass animations buffering for graphics, etc etc, and it is still ridiculously unstable as a game. I was told that the actual steam version is far more stable, so i might very well need to wait until i get it, because this current one i have looks to be unplayable.



This post has been edited by Magitek_slayer on 16th November 2020 09:50

--------------------
We are stardust.Our bodies are made from the guts of exploding stars.

Neil Degrasse Tyson.

Post #216375
Top
Posted: 16th November 2020 02:50

*
SOLDIER
Posts: 738

Joined: 4/11/2004

Awards:
Celebrated the CoN 20th Anniversary at the forums. Member of more than ten years. Member of more than five years. 
It's probably something wrong on the O.S. side of things if I had to guess. It is a 17 year old game by now after-all, and while Windows has been better about backwards compatibility than most other platforms, even Microsoft has its limits, and I think the constant Windows 10 updates have broken a great deal of things. I'd probably be trying to run it on a Windows XP. system if you still have one of those kicking around, and maybe looking for the version update patch.

If you do not have a Windows XP system, then there are a couple of other things you might try to do mentioned in this article. Sorry if you already saw that, but I can't be sure if you've tried anything other than exactly what you stated. Enabling xp compatibility mode for an executable in particular is easy if you only know where to find it.


If none of that works you might want to try doing is running it through Wine. Wine is a bit of a hassle to set up, so I have never really used it beyond running Proton, but it looks like the game should work perfectly under Wine version 2.4 on Debian 8. I am not sure how to do that myself unfortunately, so I can not help more than that, but it is free to try if you have some technical knowhow and do not want to spend any extra money.

As for me, I think I would probably try to run that game on an xbox if I wanted to try it at this point. The original xbox is basically a Pentium 3 computer with a Nvidia graphics card and a Windows 2000 derived O.S. Certainly not a top level computer of the era but probably good enough if the game has console specific optimizations and it does not look like the price difference is too high on ebay. Being stuck at 480p would kinda suck but I have an old computer monitor and a y/pb/pr to V.G.A. transcoder which should enable me to play that resolution without scaling. If you do not have an original xbox, it works in backwards compatibility mode on the 360 and xbox one too, and the xbox 360 in particular has its own V.G.A. cable.

Oh who am I kidding? This is a Final Fantasy fansite. You folk probably all went with Playstations by that point in time! tongue.gif

I got a used xbox for multi-platform games though. What? I mean it's not terribly expensive now and still the most powerful of the three consoles of its time. Power and price per game is the major deciding factor between the three for xbox compatible cross-platform games.

Now the H.D. a/v kit *is* a little expensive for what it does and something like that is required for the higher resolution output modes, including 480p, but there are cheap alternatives like these Tomee component cables cables if you have a compatible television and do not need digital audio output for surround sound systems for example. How to hook up an xbox to an H.D.M.I. is another matter though: Pound made some cables for that purpose but those allegedly are not very good and I would bet the knockoffs are even worse. I'd discuss that more but this isn't really a topic for a/v solutions, or the original xbox so I'll leave it at that for now. Hopefully I've mentioned something that can be of help to you though Magitek Slayer.



--------------------
Post #216377
Top
Posted: 16th November 2020 09:54

*
Crusader
Posts: 1,527

Joined: 19/6/2009

Awards:
Member of more than ten years. Celebrated the CoN 20th Anniversary at the forums. Member of more than five years. 
Its a shame really I have all sorts of technical issues with this game.

Full screening makes it hard to stream, and i really wanted to stream this game, because i like to share the games i'm playing with people. I got issues with sound because my headset is usb, and usb hates having sound on when discord is open and when its off often i have to take out the usb to fix the sound which either goes to mono or having sound coming from the pc itself. Its literally a nightmare. I found out that this is a thing others have had with discord especially, because if you are talking with people it likes to mute sounds from all other sources besides discord, so it prob does same to streamlabs OBS. If i am to stream this game i need to figure out how to fix these issues.

Also yes i am a playstation user generally I went ps1 ps2 ps3 xbox 360 Wii ps4.

Before that i was all nintendo back in the early 90s.

Il check out wine thanks for the link and info tone.



This post has been edited by Magitek_slayer on 16th November 2020 13:42

--------------------
We are stardust.Our bodies are made from the guts of exploding stars.

Neil Degrasse Tyson.

Post #216379
Top
Posted: 12th January 2021 22:29

*
Cactuar
Posts: 225

Joined: 13/6/2001

Awards:
Member of more than ten years. Member of more than five years. 
If you have the CD Key try activating it on Steam. Steam will sometimes allow you to maker your old CD games permanent digital games on Steam. (I did this with The Witcher I)

It seems other gamers even there have the same issues BUT gamers are helping each other on the Steam Community forums on these issues.

--------------------
His Divine Shadow

Got Lexx?

Click to vist FFF.

Post #216448
Top
0 User(s) are reading this topic (0 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members: